top of page

Healthy Is Not "One Size Fits All"


As I've mentioned many times previously, what works for one person might not work for another. What works for you this year, might not work for you next year. Our bodies are always changing and we need to be flexible and learn to listen to our bodies. For example, some people might feel better with higher carbs and less fat and some people might feel better with lower carbs and higher fat. One isn't better than the other and one isn't "wrong". Maybe your best friend did lose 20 pounds by cutting out carbs and instead started eating coconut oil, peanut butter, and bacon with each meal but if you tried the same thing you would end up eating an entire jar of peanut butter instead of one tablespoon. What do you think would be better? That you continue to eat a balanced diet, even if it's more carbs than her, or try to force yourself to eat the same way she does, knowing that you will over-indulge in those foods? Being healthy and fit is NOT one size fits all. You have to take the time to find out what works for you (be patient, this can be a long process!).

I also see way too often that people get hung up on "being perfect" that they just give up and don't do anything. How does that make sense? You wanted to be perfect but you couldn't, so you just gave up? Make small changes that add up over time to a HEALTHY lifestyle change...notice I didn't say perfect. As I've mentioned in a previous post, I changed everything "overnight" but if you can't do that - that's okay! Just get started!

Keep in mind that you will be able to find anything you want online...on both sides of everything. Every day something new will kill you if you eat it - according to someone. YOU must find balance and find what works for YOU. This takes TIME. If it sounds to good to be true it probably is. Only eat bananas all day, no fats, no carbs, only eat grapefruit, no protein, etc. Seriously?! Just eat a balanced diet of HEALTHY food and LIVE YOUR LIFE. Don't get so hung up on every single detail. The details will ultimately drive you crazy. Believe me, I know. I've been there.

Am I as lean as I once was? Nope. My priorities have changed - I now spend more time coaching others, mentoring others to help them build their online coaching business, not to mention being a wife and a mom... I'm being pulled in a million different directions all the time. Is this an excuse? Not in my mind because I'm still working out 5-6 days a week, I still eat healthy and I AM STILL HEALTHY. Being lean doesn't equal being healthy. It takes A LOT of focus, time, and energy to be super lean. Honestly, I think the reason I've been successful is because I've been on this "fitness journey" for over 5 years now. I just want to live a healthy lifestyle - one where I can travel and do all of the things I love to the best of my ability. I'm not saying there's anything wrong with a "bikini body" or whatever your goal is but there HAS TO BE SOMETHING MORE! There has to be something else driving you. XOXO,

Christy

bottom of page